Metalworks Institute Celebrates the Graduating Class of 2013

Launch 48 Alumni News

On January 25th we celebrated the graduating class of 2013 at the Living Arts Centre in Mississauga. The ceremony, hosted by instructor and Education Counsellor Alex Andronache was quite the celebration.

Key Note Speaker, Alan Cross, gave a very inspiring and motivational speech, which included personal anecdotes from his life and career; as well as his exciting thoughts about the future of the industry. He wished all the best to the graduates and provided them with great advice as they prepare to set out on their own personal journey within the entertainment industry.

Students were presented their diplomas and welcomed on stage by Metalworks Founder Gil Moore. Following the presentation of diplomas, Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards and the Mentor Awards were presented.

The recipient of each Mentor Award receives a one-hour mentoring session with a leading Canadian industry professional. We would like to thank all of our mentors for the generous donation of their time and knowledge to our graduates.

This year, Founder Gil Moore presented the inaugural Special Achievement Award which was given to Noel Cadastre, Audio Production and Engineering Program Graduate 2006. This award commemorates Noel’s achievements in Audio Production and Engineering including contributions to Drake’s GRAMMY Award-winning album Take Care. Noah “40” Shebib was also on hand to congratulate Noel and provide words of encouragement to the graduates. Noel works alongside Noah and the OVO team.

Alumni Speakers
Travis Sewchan – Audio Production and Engineering Program Graduate 2010. Currently the assistant engineer to Noah “40” Shebib and Noel Cadastre at OVO Sound and Evdon Music Inc.  Travis is the head engineer for OVO’s upcoming duo Majid Jordan.

Jennifer Essiembre – Entertainment Business Management Program Graduate 2009. Currently holds the role of creative coordinator at ole Music Publishing where she is responsible for the management of the ole music catalogue. Jennifer assists with maximizing opportunities for ole properties across all media, genres and borders.

Mentoring Awards

Steve Baird – Lighting Designer – Currently on Tour with Dream Theatre and Norah Jones
Madisson Luhowy

David Bottrill – Three time GRAMMY-Award Winning Producer (Muse, TOOL, Silverchair)
Kyle Luettschwager

Gavin Brown –
Multi JUNO-Award Winning and GRAMMY Nominated Producer (Barenaked Ladies, Three Days Grace, The Tragically Hip)
Adam Buckley

Alan Cross – Internationally Known Broadcaster, Interviewer, Writer, Consultant, Blogger and Speaker
Keira Wade

Andy Curran – Director of A&R at SRO/Anthem Entertainment and Musician, Producer, Songwriter
Kathleen Cox

Lenny DeRose – Veteran Studio Engineer and Music Producer (Motley Crue, Walk off the Earth, Lights)
Daniel Steinman

Denise Donlon – Broadcast and Recording Industry Executive, Former President of Sony Music Canada
Tamara Harry

Rik Emmett – Guitarist of the Year at the Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards, Educator and Vocalist/Guitarist for Canadian Rock Band Triumph
Julian Troiano

Jake Gold – President of the Management Trust
Tosan Igho-Osagie

Ralph James – President of the Agency Group
Amy Burnham

Alex Lifeson – Guitarist  in Canadian Rock Band Rush
Andre Besel

Richard Mills – Agent at The Feldman Agency
Kali Newman

Gil Moore – Metalworks Founder and Drummer in Canadian Rock Group Triumph
Ginela Gonzalez

Allan Reid – Director of MusiCounts and VP of A&R at Universal Music Canada
Michelle Owen

Noah “40” Shebib – Toronto Producer (Drake, Lil’Wayne, Alicia Keys)
Logan Wall

Gary Slaight – President of Slaight Music
Andrea Rocco

Bob Spencer – President of Metalworks Production Group
Elisha Wielinga

L. Stu Young – Award Winning Canadian Recording/Mixing Engineer and Producer
Evan Stewart

Outstanding Achievement Awards

ole Music Publishing Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in Music Publishing
$1000 scholarship
Keira Wade

McDSP Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Audio Production and Engineering Program
McDSP Emerald Pack Native v5 Bundle
Logan Wall

Long and McQuade Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Show Production and Event Management Program
Apex 460 Tube condenser Microphone
Amy Burnham

Canadian Music Week Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Entertainment Business Management Program
2 Delegate Passes to attend the 2014 CMW Music Summit
Andrea Rocco

Sennheiser / Neumann Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Professional Sound and Business – Studio Production Major Program
Neumann TLM Microphone and Sennheiser HD380 Headphones
Sarah Buchynski

Sennheiser/Neumann Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Professional Sound and Business – Live Production Major Program
Sennheiser MK4 Microphone & Sennheiser HD 380 Headphones
Andy Morrish

Sennheiser /Neumann Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Professional Sound Program
Neumann TLM 103 and Sennheiser HD380 Headphones
Madisson Luhowy

Metalworks Studios Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Music Performance and Technology Program
Recording time at Metalworks Studios
Andre Besel

Norris Whitney / Music Books Plus Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Entertainment Marketing Course
Membership to Canadian Musician Magazine and a gift certificate to Music Books Plus
Michelle Owen

Sanderson Law Award
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Entertainment Law Course
$500 Scholarship
Kathleen Cox

Tom Cochrane & Takamine Guitar Award
Outstanding Promise as a Songwriter
Takamine Guitar
Julian Troiano

Founder’s Award
Sponsored by Live Nation
Madisson Luhowy

Congratulations to our Graduating Class of 2013!
We wish all of you the very best success!
For Photos Visit MWI On Facebook

Care to Share?

About Us

Metalworks Institute’s Diploma Programs are designed to help you understand the complexities of the modern entertainment industry.

You can learn more about us here.

Privacy Policy.

Contact Us

If you have any questions or comments that you would like to share with us, please feel free to reach out to us directly, or fill out the form on our contact page.

Phone: 905-279-4000
Toll Free: 1-866-783-2200