Congratulations Graduates of 2015!

Launch 48 Alumni News

Metalworks Institute celebrated the graduating class of 2015 at the Living Arts Centre in Mississauga on Saturday January 16th 2016. Annual Key Note Speaker Alan Cross was on hand to remind graduates of their accomplishments and hard work to date. Alan provided encouragement and motivation to each graduate as they embark on their future success within the entertainment industry

The academic success of those within the graduating class is recognized with Mentorship and Outstanding Achievement Awards. Mentorship Awards are presented to graduates who have academically excelled throughout their studies. Recipients receive a one-on-one mentoring session with a leading music industry professional, who has generously donated their time to provide an invaluable opportunity for a deserving graduate. Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented to graduates who have demonstrated outstanding achievements, made positive contributions to student life, or actively participated in school events and volunteer opportunities throughout their studies.

Founder Gil Moore presented this year’s Alumni Special Achievement Awards in recognition of two previous graduates who have made significant contributions in their chosen fileds within the entertainment industry. Metalworks faculty and staff are proud of the success this year’s recipients have achieved. Tom Wood (2012) received the award in recognition of his achievements in Show Production and Event Management as Front of House Engineer and Production Manager for JUNO-Nominated Canadian singer-songwriter Shawn Mendes’ 2015 international headlining tour. Jennifer Essiembre (2009), received the award in recognition of her achievements in Entertainment Business Management, particularly in her new role as the senior manager, creative at ole Majorly Indie in Los Angeles, California.

Mentoring Awards

Steve Baird – Lighting Designer – Currently on Tour with Dream Theatre
Melissa McKee

David Bottrill – Three time GRAMMY-Award Winning Producer (Muse, TOOL, Silverchair)
Joel Martens

Alan Cross – Internationally Known Broadcaster, Interviewer, Writer, Consultant, Blogger and Speaker
Jonathan Juffs

Andy Curran – Director of A&R at SRO/Anthem Entertainment and Musician, Producer, Songwriter
Nicholas Cabraja

Lenny DeRose – Veteran Studio Engineer and Music Producer (Motley Crue, Walk off the Earth, Lights)
Drake Andrews

Denise Donlon – Broadcast and Recording Industry Executive, Former President of Sony Music Canada
Richard Weller

Ian D’Sa – Musician, Songwriter, Producer and guitarist in Canadian rock group Billy Talent
Justin Madill

Rik Emmet – Guitarist of the Year at the Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards, Educator and Vocalist/Guitarist for Canadian Rock Band Triumph
Robert Wilson

Jake Gold – President of the Management Trust 
Molly Fogarty

Ralph James – President of the Agency Group
Tanesha Audet

Randy Lennox- President, Entertainment Production and Broadcasting at Bell Media and former President and CEO of Universal Music Canada
Shelby Galliot

Alex Lifeson – Musician and guitarist of Canadian rock group Rush
Paul Sullivan

Richard Mills – 
Agent at The Feldman Agency
Nicholas Alexander

Gil Moore – Metalworks Founder and Drummer in Canadian Rock Group Triumph
Zacky Bucknor

Kardinal Offishall – Canadian rap artist, record producer and record executive. Currently the Creative Executive Director of Universal Music Canada’s A&R team
Mackenzie Calarco

Allan Reid – Director of MusiCounts and VP of A&R at Universal Music Canada
Richard Condo

Noah ‘40’ Shebib – Canadian record producer (Drake, Lil Wayne, Beyonce)
Harley Arsenault

Gary Slaight – President of Slaight Music
Christopher Thompson

Bob Spencer – President of Metalworks Production Group
Skye Nolan

Outstanding Achievement Awards

ole Music Publishing Award
Jerume Madridejos

McDSP Award
Mackenzie Calarco

Long and McQuade Apex 460 Award
Nicholas Alexander

Canadian Music Week Award
Christopher Thompson

Sennheiser MK4 Award
Melissa McKee

Sennheiser MK8 Award
Joel Martens

Norris Whitney / Music Books Plus Award
Richard Condo

Sanderson Entertainment Law Award
Richard Weller

Sonor Award
Kristian Balinov

Founder’s Award
Michael Ashton

Congratulations to the graduating class of 2015!
We wish all of you the very best success!

Care to Share?

About Us

Metalworks Institute’s Diploma Programs are designed to help you understand the complexities of the modern entertainment industry.

You can learn more about us here.

Privacy Policy.

Contact Us

If you have any questions or comments that you would like to share with us, please feel free to reach out to us directly, or fill out the form on our contact page.

Phone: 905-279-4000
Toll Free: 1-866-783-2200